Catherine Grinyer

December 12, 2021

Delivering Accessible and Inclusive Events: 2021 End of Year Review

Its fair to say that 2021 has been full of challenges once again, with changes to how we work, meet and connect continuing to affect our daily lives. Despite many people’s expectations, in 2021 the full return to in-office work and in-person events, didn’t really happen. Hybrid and increasingly purely virtual events have been the norm once again. 

Here at Attendable, it has been a busy, challenging and immensely rewarding working year. In 2021, we built on our knowledge, skills and experience gained in 2020, to deliver over fifty fantastic events. We were truly honoured to receive a Special Recognition Award from CAFE for our commitment to accessibility and inclusion!

At each and every event, we ensured that best platforms were used, the best technology was made use of, and our wealth of experience was drawn-upon. This year we have been proud to provide innovative work arounds to meet our clients diverse and varied requirements. Doing this made sure that none of the human interaction, networking opportunities and general buzz of live events was missed.  

What’s more, by utilising the increased accessibility potential of virtual events, with live captions delivered, no limit on attendee numbers for many events and international speakers able to dial in to contribute and share, our events were bigger and better than ever this year.  

How many events we delivered in 2021

Working with established connections and partners and meeting the needs of a host of new organisations, from small intimate learning events, to international multi-day conferences, this year we delivered the following: 

Awards ceremonies: 2 

International Conferences: 4 

Masterclasses: 7 

Podcasts: 11 

Livestreams: 9 

Webinars: 4 

Roundtables: 6 

Virtual dinners: 1 

Networking events: 7 

Launch events: 3 

Starting with our inclusive approach to event design and planning and by engaging BSL interpreters, live and automated captioning, translation services and a wealth of other tools, we ensured all the events we delivered were engaging and accessible for all.  

Many thanks to everyone we have met and worked with this year. We are now very much looking forward to delivering even more in-person, hybrid and virtual events in 2022.  

If you have an event to plan and want to utilise our wealth of experience to ensure that, be-it virtual or in-person, you engage and excite your whole audience and make maximum impact, then get in touch with us at Attendable.  

 

Like or share...

Other recent posts

Making Events Accessible and Inclusive for a Neurodiverse Audience class='blog-image'

Tamsin Wilson

June 13, 2022

Making Events Accessible and Inclusive for a Neurodiverse Audience

Neurodiversity is a term that covers everyone, whether people consider themselves to be neurotypical or neurodivergen

Like or share...

Read more
Hybrid Events – an Attendable Guide class='blog-image'

Tamsin Wilson

May 4, 2022

Hybrid Events – an Attendable Guide

Over the past couple of years, the event landscape has changed. Innovative technological solutions (and a lot of hard

Like or share...

Read more
Attendable shortlisted for StartUp Awards National Series class='blog-image'

Catherine Grinyer

April 19, 2022

Attendable shortlisted for StartUp Awards National Series

Attendable has been named one of the most exciting new businesses in the UK after being shortlisted as part of a bran

Like or share...

Read more
Top Tips for Making Your Live Streams Accessible class='blog-image'

Tamsin Wilson

April 5, 2022

Top Tips for Making Your Live Streams Accessible

For any event, whether virtual or in-person, it is important to create and deliver all your content with accessibilit

Like or share...

Read more
How to make video calls accessible class='blog-image'

Sarah Florence

February 8, 2022

How to make video calls accessible

Over the past two years, video calling technology has allowed us to continue to connect, socialise and work throughou

Like or share...

Read more
How to Create a Virtual Award Ceremony and Make it Accessible class='blog-image'

Catherine Grinyer

January 20, 2022

How to Create a Virtual Award Ceremony and Make it Accessible

If there is one type of event that has particularly lost out as a result of the pandemic, it is award ceremonies. Usu

Like or share...

Read more
Virtual Event Platforms and Accessibility, A Quick Guide class='blog-image'

Catherine Grinyer

January 19, 2022

Virtual Event Platforms and Accessibility, A Quick Guide

Over the pandemic many of us have become accustomed to the likes of Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meets for work c

Like or share...

Read more
Delivering Accessible and Inclusive Events: 2021 End of Year Review class='blog-image'

Catherine Grinyer

December 12, 2021

Delivering Accessible and Inclusive Events: 2021 End of Year Review

Its fair to say that 2021 has been full of challenges once again, with changes to how we work, meet and connect conti

Like or share...

Read more
The Carbon Footprint of Virtual Events class='blog-image'

Catherine Grinyer

December 1, 2021

The Carbon Footprint of Virtual Events

Virtual events have existed for a while, but they have seen a significant growth in popularity as a result of the pan

Like or share...

Read more
Optimising your content with the best caption type class='blog-image'

Catherine Grinyer

October 23, 2021

Optimising your content with the best caption type

Captions are a must-include for accessible online content, but how do you know which type to use?  As experts in

Like or share...

Read more
How to create an inclusive webinar: 10 top tips class='blog-image'

Catherine Grinyer

September 7, 2021

How to create an inclusive webinar: 10 top tips

Webinars are a popular way for businesses to engage with their customers. But it can be hard to know where to start.

Like or share...

Read more
‘Tis The Season To Go Virtual, Ideas For Your Festive Events class='blog-image'

Catherine Grinyer

December 20, 2020

‘Tis The Season To Go Virtual, Ideas For Your Festive Events

Christmas will be a little different for everyone this year. Like most, working from home has probably become the new

Like or share...

Read more
Making Virtual Conferences More Accessible to Everyone class='blog-image'

Catherine Grinyer

November 27, 2020

Making Virtual Conferences More Accessible to Everyone

We’re proud to have been the events delivery partner for AbilityNet’s Techshare Pro conference again this

Like or share...

Read more